Indian Fashion Police

Honest opinion about the Indian Fashion Scenario

‘Malaga’ by Malini Agarwalla

Posted by Indian Fashion Police on October 4, 2011

By Malini Agarwalla

Whenever I get an affirmative answer for an interview from a leading designer, it feels as if I have entered the gates of fashion heaven. I think about the questions I would ask the designer, I want to know about their start, their struggles and their success. Celebrities are given a ‘style identity’ by the designer who work day and night to create the future of fashion.

Times when I want to see these beautiful creations, I always try to visit the boutiques, the fashion malls and the designer stores on my visit back to India. I do have my ‘Alice in Wonderland’ moment every single time I visit a fantastic store. The last time I was lost in the dream was when I visited a store name ‘Malaga’ in Palladium Mall, Lower Parel. Every single object had the Indian touch which is rare to find in these times where the world draws inspiration from the west only. The bags, the shoes, the jewelry, belts………..I must confess I could not take my eyes off the collection.

‘Malaga’ the label started by Malini Agarwalla in the year 2004 has risen to become one of the leading designer brands in India. Malini has showcased her collection not just in Indian fashion weeks but also in Paris, Milan, London, Dubai and many more destinations.

She has blended the modern with the traditional to create beauty. I am still in awe of her collections which she had presented at Fashion Week. The entire collection has loads of zardosi work, Swaroski & semi-precious stone encrusted designs on fabrics like silk, brocade, velvet……a reflection of Royalty indeed.

Celebrities like Sonakshi Sinha, Amrita Arora, Simone Singh, Sushmita Sen, Sophie Chaudhary have been seen wearing ‘Malaga’ creations. She also one of the participating designers in ‘Araaish’ – event with a social cause. She has rocked at Lakme Fashion Week with the bags, jewelry and shoes, each time surprising the audience with her latest collections. Here is a look of ‘Malaga’ creations on the runway.

Malini has successfully opened stores in Mumbai and Delhi within few years of the launch of  ‘Malaga’……. truly commendable for a new brand to establish itself so amazingly. I am thankful to Malini who took some time out in order to answer few questions that I always wanted to ask and know about her.

Q & A with Designer Malini Agarwalla, Creator of ‘Malaga’

Sushmita Sen posing with Malini Agarwalla and one of her ‘Malaga’ creations

1) How did you start off with creating designer bags, shoes and accessories when the trend was yet to catch up in India?

Malini : I have done my MBA with finance and had no formal training in design. I was helping my husband in his business when I decided that I want to do something by myself that is more creative. Since I am passionate about Handbags and footwear I decided to give
this a shot. This was 10 years ago and so far I have enjoyed this journey immensely.

2) What was your inspiration behind the label ‘Malaga’?

Malini : Inspiration behind the label is definitely our Heritage. My attempt is to use our heritage to design a product which is contemporary and classic. The intention is to present the best of India in a handbag with the best possible finish to the rest of the word. A tall order but I am working towards it.

3) ‘Malaga’ already has stores in Mumbai & Delhi, you have showcased your designs at Lakme Fashion Week……..what’s next for the label?

Malini : Having established the brand Malaga our next step is the launch of two diverse labels

a) Malaga Bespoke– which will be launched in October this year where we are launching handbags made with precious metals and stones and accompanying real jewellery.

b) Pimento – by Malaga which is a prêt line of handbags , footwear and jewellery .

4) What would you predict as style trend in the year 2012 in bags, shoes & accessories?

Malini : I think colour is going to be big next summer as well and the shapes will be more structured . Detailing and structure is what I think will make the ‘IT’ accessory.

5) Your designs have been worn by many well known faces, is there anyone in particular that you would want to see carrying a ‘Malaga’ creation??

Malini : Sonam Kapoor

6) We know so much about the brand ‘Malaga’, but we would like to know about the Designer’s personal style?

Malini : As I guess would be obvious I am a totally accessory person. I like going simple in clothes. Clean lines and well finished ,which could look different each time I accessorize them. I believe that just one statement piece is enough –a bag or a piece of jewellery. Also comfort and style must go together. I could never wear something that I am not comfortable in. Whether the fit or the style.

To find out more about ‘Malaga’, you can visit the store at Gulmohar Road, JVPD & Juhu Palladium Mall, Lower Parel in Mumbai. While ‘Malaga’ is located on 13 M.G.Road, New Delhi.

For more details you can visit her official website at http://demo.worldofmalaga.com/default.aspx or stay updated about her collection via ‘Malaga’ Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/MalagaBags?sk=wall.

Photo courtesy : ‘Malaga’ by Malini Agarwalla.

Leave a Reply

 
