Indian Fashion Police

Honest opinion about the Indian Fashion Scenario

Art meets Fashion [June 2011]

Posted by Indian Fashion Police on June 1, 2011

Someone recently joined Indian Fashion Police’s Facebook group and I happen to browse through this person’s profile since that gives me a ‘view’ of what kind of people read my articles. Helps me in a way to write better………coming back to the facebook, I just happen to find Aarti Verma and her designs online. Beautiful hand painted bags, T-shirts, tops,purses, jewelery and many more. I was impressed in first shot and wanted to put her up as ‘Find of the month’ for June.

I liked the idea of not sticking to traditional sketches, instead blending Indian designs with the ‘best of the west’………contemporary but I still stop in my way to take a look while discovering something spells ‘funky” in Aarti’s collection. It is very

Art meets Fashion is an 8 month old label started in September 2010. It deals exclusively with handpainted and handcrafted stuff like handbags, jewelery, clothes, home furnishings…………you name it, the girl can create ‘Art’ on any object. The designs feature alot of Indian ‘Art’ like Madhubani paintings, Gods & Goddesses as well as African Tribal art…… She does draw her inspirations from eminent designers like Sabyasachi Mukherjee which is pretty evident from her sketches of Sabyasachi’s creations showcased on the runway.

‘Art meets Fashion’ has recently collaborated with Delhi based NGO ‘Protsahan and designed bags for them to help raise funds for the organization. This is not why I am featuring ‘Art meets Fashion’…………..this label is young and loads of fun to carry around.


Aarti  has done an art teacher’s diploma from Sir JJ school of Arts and further trained in fashion designing.  She worked as an Arts & Craft teacher for a year before starting off with ‘Art meets Fashion’.

Q & A with Aarti Verma, Creator of ‘Art meets Fashion’


Aarti showing off one of her creations

1) How did you start off with creating these bags???

Aarti: I wanted to do something unique which is not usually available in the market, thought of designing bags as accessories are equally important today as apparels. When i thought of combining my love for Art and Fashion, thats when Art meets Fashion came into existence.
Its a very quirky and an  Artsy label, every piece is handpainted and handcrafted with love…….

2) Inspiration behind each of your collection…….

Aarti: My work is my reflection. Though I am more inclined towards Tribal and ethnic stuff…

3) Best compliment ever received for your designs???

Aarti: Every compliment which I receive  from my satisfied customers are very special

 4)  How do you plan to expand your label???

Aarti: Uptill now Things have fallen in place, very soon will start retailing at more stores across India…

5) Where are these designs currently available in India???

Aarti: Its Available in “Bliss” in 7 Bungalows, Andheri (West) Mumbai, “Chilli Billi” in Indira Nagar, Bangalore……..also I sell most of my stuff through my Blog and facebook page…


You can visit the official website of ‘Art meets Fashion’  at the link below or join her facebook page.
2 Responses to “Art meets Fashion [June 2011]”

  1. Hats off to you Punnu…you have done a great work by encouraging the booming talents in our very own country…Look forward to find some more stuffs like this one…:)

Leave a Reply

 
