Indian Fashion Police

Honest opinion about the Indian Fashion Scenario

Anita Dongre – Queen of Highstreet Fashion

Posted by Indian Fashion Police on January 12, 2011

What would you call a designer who has 6 labels under her belt and infinite stores in major cities??? An amazing designer who knows what the masses love. Anita is one of the few designers catering to all income strata in this fashionable society. Her clothes are very wearable yet contemporary and the best part fits in my budget, no wonder why I shopped for them on my trip back home.

Anita earned her fashion designing from S.N.D.T, Mumbai. She came into limelight when she launched her western wear ‘AND’ in 1999. Since then there has been no looking back for this talent powerhouse with the launches of her brand label ANITA DONGRE – IINTER PRET, TIMELESS, GLOBAL DESI and GRASSROOT. Plus she has also ventured in wellness with ‘CLAY’ which has opened in Bandra. This was my short description of what this amazing lady has achieved.

But that is not why I want to write about her. I have tried to find many designer outfits that would fit in my budget but somehow have been able to admire these designer creations from a distance, let alone buy them. Anita’s creation was one of the first which I bought and five years down the line the outfit is still a precious piece in my wardrobe. The quality, the clean lines, the details work plus durability of a ‘Anita Dongre’ fashion is definitely for keeps.

Recently I had been to luxury mall ‘Palladium’ at Phoenix mills, I was mesmerized by Anita’s ‘Timeless’ collection which were very trendy with ethnic patterns yet not heavy on the pocket. Instead of buying a detail work suit piece and getting them stitched, I would rather buy it off the racks. The store’s decor was as classic as the clothes itself……………..though there were other high-end designer stores as well in the same mall, I could not bring myself to enter those stores since a middle class person like me often gets scared looking at the price tag of these designerwear.  Not to mention the glances by the store staff who are trying to guess whether I am a buyer or just a petty window shopper???? Sigh………..

My point here is that Anita has catered to the segment where we aspire to wear designerwear but can afford to shop at Shopper’s Stop. Today many of my girlfriends can walk with confidence wearing her creation and feel like a celebrity. Funnily, we can now relate and look forward to the recent collections launched at the fashion weeks, which I feel was non-existent for most of us till date. She has started a trend where designerwear was not just limited to superstars or celebrities only, but for a normal gal like u and me. Kudos to Anita for bringing about a revolution and bridging the gap.

Anita apart from dressing any woman, has been a designer for Esha Kopikar, Gul Panag, Urmila Matondkar, Raveena Tandon, Mallika Sherawat, Tabu and Tisca Chopra. Her recent collection was inspired b y our colourful Rajasthan, has done pretty well. Her collection has a wide range to choose from – TIMELESS is inspired from Indian heritage with traditional wear like lehengas, churidhars, kurtis. IINTER Pret is a fusion of Indian patterns with western designs & fit. GRASSROOT is an eco-friendly collection made from organic material. ‘AND’ is the party and formal western wear line while GLOBAL DESI is western cut on Indian fabric both of which have an affordable price range.

If you wish to see her collection, you can visit her flagship store in Linking Road, Bandra which houses all the 5 labels under one roof which is spread out over 4,000 sq feet or visit one of her stores in major cities across India. Check out her official website for more details www.anitadongre.com

Photo Courtesy : www.lakmefashionweek.co.in

Her collection on the runway

 

4 Responses to “Anita Dongre – Queen of Highstreet Fashion”

  1. Priyanka said

    I am blessed with your blog truly…atleast I end up reading one new thing everyday..:)

  2. Dina David said

    I went on the web to look for a designer who can make me an outfit for my second dress (an indian outfit) I am getting married the 8 October 2011 and i am living in Namibia, Continent of Africa.
    If it is possible can you google for Elizabeth Gupta she was wearing an indian outfiit on her engagement day. i want an outfit like that and if it is possible can you please send me an email to ddavid@iway.na or dina.david@gov.mof.na confirming

Leave a Reply

 
