Indian Fashion Police

Honest opinion about the Indian Fashion Scenario

Lakme India Fashion Week Winter/Festive 2010 – Day 3

Posted by Indian Fashion Police on September 20, 2010

Since the past 2 days I am quite satisfied that this time around I do get to see a lot of new designs and wearable clothes. Let’s have a look at what Day 3 has in store for us.

Masaba Gupta

Masaba Gupta presented a very colourful collection which reminded me of the beauty of handloom fabrics from Rajasthan and central India. I am all for colours which Masaba used for her collection………..the bright yellows, tangy orange, aquamarine blues, fucshia, greys………..this was the desired pop of colour which I was looking out in this fashion week. The layered sarees with detail work at the border was very, very unique. The fusion of Indian outfits with western clothes worked out well here…………..though some pieces will look better if worn separately.  The creations were very unconventional but very, very fashion forward. My Verdict : Better than her previous collection but I am still looking forward to see her design more western attire which I feel she can do justice very well.

Purvi Doshi

Purvi Doshi’s Collection titled aptly as ‘Bheed Bhaad’ which means crowd and in this case means hotchpotch [god I have started using that word like anything]. Why do I say so???? Because I feel there are too many designs clashing against one another in every outfit. Leheriya designs mixed with prints and brocades, chikankari, polka dots………..though I am more for Purvi’s western wear which had beautiful chikankari tops combined with colourful shorts and pants. But the Indian wear somehow left me high and dry……………needed emphasis on particular pattern or design since the sarees honestly looked like a mess. My verdict :  Clean up and remember that Indian fabrics are rich in colour as well as texture so blend well. The trick is to keep focus on one piece and work around it.

Satya Paul

Satya Paul’s new collection which had many Bridal wear outfits, was presented in Lakme Fashion Week with alot of panache…………Shruti Hasan walked the ramp with designer Puneet Nanda as show stopper wearing an alluring blue and green tone saree with sequin work at the border and sheer net blouse.  The collection was pleasantly different from the usual Satya Paul sarees…………….I am digging the bridal wear and the detail work is a must for the upcoming festive season. The western wear though needed better work since there was nothing new in it. My verdict : The Indian wear will do well, the western attire needs to be more contemporary.

Vijay Balhara

VJB is back and this time he presents ‘Bridal Renaissance’ collection which has a range of Indian ethnic wear, I also happen to discover that embroidery and detail work might just be the strong point of Vijay’s designs. This very wearable bridal wear had loads of juicy colours which are fit for a bridal trousseau and the silks were ‘oh so fabulous’. I am all for his new collection which is better than his previous Resort 2010 collection. Though I am not a fan of the sarees that Vijay had created but the Anarkalis make up for it. My verdict :  Very wearable yet fashionable. I am sure there will be many takers for this collection.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nachiket Barve

flower prints are ‘ in’ or so it looks after seeing Nachiket Barve’s new collection which had floral motifs……………but what left me a bit disappointed was the fit of the garments……….long gone are the days when women wanted to hide their curves, not anymore. Nachiket’s collection had an array of bright colours which is a positive aspect but the loose fits was a downer. I liked the short dresses but the Indian infused with western was not upto the mark. My verdict : Shorts dresses will sell, I am doubtful about the other stuff.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Arpan Vohra

Arpan Vohra’s glittery new collection was a dedication to old Bollywood Glamour………collection of flared pants, lehengas, fitted skirts, sarees, evening gowns, cocktail dresses……….the outfits had loads of crystal & sequin work. I liked the shimmer on the nude colours but some  outfits in red and pinks were too much over the top for my taste. few outfits lacked the element of wearability due to the fit and shimmer level. a little subtle shimmer looks great but too much will make the wearer look like a Christmas tree. My verdict : The nudes will do well so will the darker shades with minimal detail work.

 

Anupama Dayal

Anupama Dayal whose collection is already making waves in the international fashion scene, presented her very ethnic bridal wear this season. I am happy to see the colourful Indian Bridal couture which was classic and smart. The collection titled as ‘Bronze Begum’ had sarees, lehengas, sharara gharara, skirts, singlet top all made in rich fabrics like brocade, velvet, crepe, net, silks and georgettes in luscious colours complete with zardosi and gotta work……………….I am in love with her collection. The sarees & lehegas were fabulous and can be worn with separate pieces as well. My Verdict: Anupama has a ‘Hit’ collection in her hands. Kudos to her for this vibrant creation.

Debarun Mukherjee

Debarun Mukherjee latest collection ‘Dear Imagination’ reminded me of the 1970s era due to the styling and the flower power but I prefer his earlier collection which he had presented in LFW Resort 2010 & Wills Lifestyle 2010 both held in march this year. The reason is simple, there is nothing unique in this collection and I find some pieces a bit incomplete. I wish a talented designer like Debarun would have got something new for us which I was lookng forward to. The flower on flower designs are not working for me…………the butterfly sleeves, the evening gowns, the sarees, the bandghgala for men……………..the collection had a lot to choose from. My verdict : All outfits needed to be glamed up a bit since the retro look is too plain, wearability of all outfits is still maintained by the designer I am sure Debarun will not disappoint me next time around and give us an impressive collection.

Photo Courtesy : www.lakmefashionweek.co.in

One Response to “Lakme India Fashion Week Winter/Festive 2010 – Day 3”

  1. the written content on this publish is really one particular of the top substance that We have at any time arrive throughout. I adore your submit, I will are available back again to examine for new posts.

Leave a Reply

 
